The main ayurvedic principles

What is Ayurveda?

As the oldest and most comprehensive therapeutic system in the world, Ayurveda is the answer to our modern needs!

Indeed, some books written 5 000 years ago match the 21st century’s concerns; if this knowledge is still misunderstood in Europe, it is probably due to the small number of translated texts available.

However, mentalities change and Ayurveda is a care method recognised by the WHO (World Health Organisation) since 1982.

Ayurveda is the science of life inherited from ancient India (literally translated from Sanskrit*, “ayur” means “life” and “veda” means science), a medicine and a philosophy all at the same time. It takes the whole of an individual into account, to heal him in his entirety: body and mind are closely tied.
It takes years to master the ayurvedic medicine, because of the subtle complexity of each individual. Fortunately, there are tips to better know ourselves!
A convenient, practical and wise method, Ayurveda is based on the balance of three key energies, or doshas, specific to each person. Once one has clearly identified his deep nature, he will be able to assess his needs to re-balance his health, mood, and even his meals. And because each person is unique, Ayurveda relies on an evaluation of one’s energies: listening to, and knowing ourselves is at the core of a better life!
* the ancient indian language

The main ayurvedic principles

Les “5 Grands Eléments” et leurs qualités fondamentales

According to the Ayurveda, everything is made up of “Five Basic Elements” : Ether (or space), Air, Fire, Water and Earth.

Each of these 5 elements is present, to a lesser or greater proportion; these comprise a range of qualities which manifest themselves in a more or less hidden manner according to the person and the situation. This variety of qualities and proportions allows a great diversity of life.Because the Five Basic Elements are always changing and interacting, the change in one of them will modify all the others.

  • - AIR is gaseous and intangible. It is light, cleardry and mobile.
  • - FIRE is the power of change and transformation. Its qualities arewarmth et dryness and its movement is ascending.
  • EARTH is solid, its qualities are heaviness, hardness with a light descending movement.
  • ETHER is so subtle that it is often forgotten. It is comparable to depth or space.
  • - L’WATER is liquid, cold, without any specific form and flows downward..


The "3 doshas"

Three vital energies combine all the elements of an individual’s constitution: these are the doshas. The doshas are known under their Sanskrit name: Vâta, Pitta and Kâpha. You can identify your own ayurvedic constitution with the quiz.


Ayurveda in the West

Ayurveda is a wonderful tool for the modern man, who suffers permanent stress, whose food is lacking in nutrients, and whose environment is remote from nature. Our balance is affected by our way of life, and Ayurveda allows us to regain focus and harmony.

Ayurveda is also a philosophy and a way of life. Above all, it seeks to prevent any illness by balancing the three “Doshas”, a term we can translate as “what changes”. Each of us is precariously balanced and we are constantly changing, according to our age, our psyche, our environment, our surroundings or our professional situation.

For all these reasons, the ayurvedic doctor seeks above all, to know us in our deepest intimacy. For him, each individual is an enigma which must be solved in order to restore and maintain the balance essential to our physical and mental health. It is a medicine focused on the individual, unlike the mass medicine which has been favoured in the West since the 18th century. This is what makes Ayurveda, a 5 000 year-old medicine, a surprisingly modern discipline.

Nowadays, Ayurveda allows millions of men and women, who live in particularly difficult conditions, to have an average life expectancy close to 70 years.